Skip to main content
REMEVi

Semax dosage: what published studies used

Published protocols, not a recommendation. Published protocols vary; a licensed provider sets your dose; never self-dose.

Published Russian studies gave Semax intranasally in short courses: a small motor neuron disease study used 12 mg a day of a 1% solution for two 10-day courses. Doses differ by condition and solution strength. Semax is not FDA-approved, and REMEVi does not currently offer it. Published protocols vary; a licensed provider sets your dose; never self-dose.

Semax is not FDA-approved. Since HHS’s October 2026 interim policy, a state-licensed 503A pharmacy may compound it on a patient-specific prescription under listed conditions.

REMEVi does not currently offer Semax.

Published intranasal Semax protocols

HHS’s interim policy lists Semax free base for intranasal use, so this table covers intranasal protocols. Each row names its source.

Published intranasal Semax protocols. Checked 2026-11-02.
StudyWho was studiedRouteAmount and frequencyCourse
Serdiuk et al., 200727 people with motor neuron disease (open-label)Intranasal, 1% solution12 mg per dayTwo 10-day courses with a 2-week break
Ashmarin et al., 1997 (review)Animals and people; the abstract does not separate themIntranasal0.015–0.050 mg per kg of body weight, as reportedNot stated in the abstract

A 2018 Russian stroke study gave 6,000 micrograms (6 mg) a day in two 10-day courses 20 days apart; its English abstract does not state the route, so it is not in the table. The per-kilogram range in the 1997 review mixes animal and human work and is not converted to a per-person dose here.

Published protocols vary; a licensed provider sets your dose; never self-dose. This page lists what studies used. It is not dosing advice.

Why published Semax dosage charts differ

  • Solution strength: Russian studies refer to 0.1% and 1% solutions, and the same number of drops delivers ten times as much at 1%.
  • Condition studied: stroke and motor neuron disease studies used milligram amounts per day; charts aimed at other uses often list microgram amounts.
  • Form: N-acetyl Semax amidate is a different compound from Semax free base, and its amounts do not carry over.
  • Units: some labels state micrograms per drop or per spray, others milligrams per milliliter.
  • No dose-finding trials: we found no published trial that compared Semax doses in people.

Nasal use basics

A compounded Semax prescription would be a nasal product, not an injection, so there is no reconstitution step for you. The pharmacy label and your provider tell you the strength, how many sprays or drops, how to store it and when it expires. Do not share a nasal device, and do not combine Semax with another peptide in one product.

How much Semax per day do studies use?

Russian clinical studies used milligram amounts per day by the nose: 12 mg a day of a 1% solution in a small motor neuron disease study, and 6 mg a day in a stroke study whose abstract does not state the route. Both used 10-day courses. Published protocols vary; a licensed provider sets your dose; never self-dose.

Sources

  1. Serdiuk et al., Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova 2007 — Chronic partial denervation and quality of life in patients with motor neuron disease treated with semax (read November 2, 2026)
  2. Ashmarin et al., Zh Vyssh Nerv Deiat Im I P Pavlova 1997 — A nootropic adrenocorticotropin analog 4-10, Semax (15 years of experience in its design and study) (read November 2, 2026)
  3. Gusev et al., Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova 2018 — The efficacy of semax in the treatment of patients at different stages of ischemic stroke (read November 2, 2026)
  4. HHS — Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances, 91 FR 68526 (Federal Register, October 30, 2026) (read November 2, 2026)
  5. Nutritional Outlook 2026 — HHS peptide compounding policy: supplement industry implications (read November 2, 2026)

Medically reviewed by Linda West-Conforti, RN · CA RN #389453 ·